• Tennessee Theatre (map)
  • 604 South Gay Street
  • Knoxville, TN, 37902
  • United States

Records from a Vanishing City

The October Masterworks program is about folk music, memory and heritage, opening with contemporary composer Jessie Montgomery’s “Records from a Vanishing City,” a piece inspired by the composer’s experiences growing up in New York City’s Lower East Side. Internationally renowned pianist Natasha Paremski performs Edvard Grieg’s beloved Piano Concerto in A, which contains a wealth of Norwegian folk music influences. The program concludes with Antonin Dvorak’s Symphony No. 7, composed to reflect the struggles of the Czech nation in the late 19th century.