• Symphony Hall (map)
  • 75 N 2nd St
  • Phoenix, AZ

Tito Muñoz, conductor
Giora Schmidt, violin

Jessie MontgomeryStarburst
PiazzollaCuatro Estaciones Porteñas (The Four Seasons of Buenos Aires)
Florence Price: Symphony No.1

Experience an adventurous impression of the Argentinian Capital brought to life as Valley favorite guest violinist Giora Schmidt performs Astor Piazzolla’s four-tango composition Four Seasons of Buenos Aires with your Phoenix Symphony. Discover Florence Price’s acclaimed early American First Symphony, with melodies and rhythms inspired from African-American folk music, spiritual music and characteristic ante-bellum dance rhythms. Florence Price is the first African-American woman to be recognized as a symphonic composer, and the first to have a composition played by a major orchestra. This dazzling and diverse program begins with musical gestures juxtaposed with gentle fleeting melodies in Starburst, a one-movement, multidimensional soundscape by young American composer Jessie Montgomery.