Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

Arizona Philharmonic performs Strum

Sunday, October 16 20223pm MST
Tickets & More Info
Arizona Philharmonic
Yavapai College Performing Arts Center
1100 East Sheldon St.
Prescott, AZ 86301 United States
+ Google Map

Peter WarlockCapriol Suite

Myroslav SkorykMelody

J.S. BachViolin Concerto No. 2 In E Major, BWV 1042

Jessie MontgomeryStrum

Edvard GriegFrom Holberg’s Time, Op. 40


Maestro Peter Bay presents Classic Wines in New Bottles, a concert of music inspired by composers and genres from earlier eras. The lilt of Renaissance dances permeates Peter Warlock’s most popular work, Capriol Suite. Violinist Katie McLin solos in J. S. Bach’s Violin Concerto No. 2, which is both modeled upon and breaking with Vivaldi’s concerto form. Strum is an engaging celebration of American folk idioms by acclaimed composer Jesse Montgomery. And Edvard Grieg’s From Holberg’s Time, Op. 40 is grounded in the 18th century contrapuntal style, but with romantic colorations. AZ Phil also honors the people of Ukraine with Ukrainian composer Myroslav Skoryk’s Melody, a beautiful work embraced as a spiritual anthem for the nation.