Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

The Land of Opportunity (Vaasa City Orchestra performs Strum)

Saturday, April 1 20232pm
Tickets & More Info
Vaasa City Orchestra
+35840 839 0547
Vaasa City Hall
Senaatinkatu 1
Vaasa, Ostrobothnia 65100 Finland
+ Google Map
event category:
  • Jessie Montgomery: Ouverture  
  • Aaron Copland: Clarinet Concerto
  • Antonín Dvořák (arr. Iain Farrington): Symphony No. 9 in E minor, “From the New World”   

New York, that mythical metropolis and unparalleled cultural crossroads, connects the composers and pieces of this concert.

Jessie Montgomery, barefooted Manhattan, possesses an urban tonal language that brings together the city’s different musical genres into an energetic concoction. The most American of all American composers, Aaron Copland, wrote his Clarinet Concerto to the King of Swing himself, Benny Goodman. The orchestra’s own clarinet charmer, Eneko Iriarte, excels as the soloist. Czech Antonín Dvořák discovered the ethnically rich musical legacy of the United States in late 19th century New York and combined it with his own Bohemian melodic language in an unrivalled way.