Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

The Law of Mosaics – A Musical Montage Across Four Centuries (Oregon Symphony performs Records from a Vanishing City)

Friday, May 5 20237:30pm PDT
Tickets & More Info
Oregon Symphony
(503) 228-1353
The Patricia Reser Center for The Arts
12625 SW Crescent Street
Beaverton, OR 97005 United States
+ Google Map
event category:

The Law of Mosaics with the Oregon Symphony brings together four centuries of music and considers the ways in which artists, by engaging with each other across time, help us to better understand ourselves, and the world. Framing the program is a “classical symphony,” stitched together from the work of four composers from the past: C.P.E. Bach, Ludwig van Beethoven, W.A. Mozart, and Louise Farrenc. Interspersed between each movement are four pieces from some of the most imaginative composers of our time which explore a musical collage in a variety of ways, mining memory, madcap humor, and ghostly nostalgia.


Hearne: “Palindrome for Andrew Norman” from The Law of Mosaics
Bach: First movement from Symphony in D Major, Wq. 183/1
Montgomery: Records from A Vanishing City
Beethoven: Third Movement from Symphony No. 7 in A Major
Ligeti: Poème symphonique (“Symphonic Poem”)
Mozart: Second movement from Symphony No. 39 in E-flat Major
Norman: Try
Farrenc: Finale from Symphony No. 2 in D Major


Deanna Tham, Conductor
Oregon Symphony 
Gabriel Kahane, Curator and Host