Chicago Symphony Orchestra performs Rounds with Awadagin Pratt, piano

January 6 - 7, 20238:00pm CST
Tickets & More Info
Chicago Symphony Orchestra
Chicago Symphony Center
220 S Michigan Ave
Chicago, IL
+ Google Map

Clyne: This Midnight Hour

Montgomery: Rounds

Wolfe: Her Story [CSO Co-commission]


Conductor Marin Alsop leads the Chicago Symphony Orchestra in three pivotal works by 21st-century women composers. This Midnight Hour, a single-movement orchestral composition by former Mead Composer-in-Residence Anna Clyne, evokes a visual journey for the listener. Mead Composer-in-Residence Jessie Montgomery’s Rounds, commissioned for and performed by pianist Awadagin Pratt, is inspired by the constancy, rhythms and duality of life that impact all living things. Closing the program is Her Story, a CSO co-commission by Pulitzer Prize-winning composer Julia Wolfe that captures the passion and perseverance of women who have led the fight for representation and gender equality. A 40-minute theatrical experience for orchestra and women’s vocal ensemble, the piece is the latest in a series of compositions by Wolfe that highlights monumental and turbulent moments in American history.