Columbus Symphony Orchestra

Columbus Symphony Orchestra performs Starburst

November 4 - 5, 20227:30pm EDT
Tickets & More Info
Columbus Symphony Orchestra
Ohio Theatre
39 E. State Street
Columbus, OH 43215 United States
+ Google Map

Brahms: Piano Concerto No. 2
Dvořák: Symphony No. 6

“Starburst composer Jesse Montgomery draws inspiration from music that surrounded her while growing up in New York’s Lower East Side, including African American spirituals, civil rights anthems, improvisational styles, modern jazz, film scoring, and more.

With his “… keen musical mind and deep musical soul,” (NPR’s All Things Considered), Israeli-born pianist Shai Wosner takes on Brahms’ monumental Second Piano Concerto, a work which took perfectionist Johannes Brahms three years to write and was an immediate success at its premiere in 1881.

Dvořák’s Symphony No. 6 was inspired by Czech folk music and first premiered with the Czech Philharmonic in 1881. Written in just seven weeks, Symphony No. 6 earned Antonín Dvořák international recognition as one of the leading composers of the day. “