Maryland Symphony Orchestra performs Strum

March 15 - 16, 2025
Tickets & More Info
Maryland Symphony Orchestra
(301) 797-4000
The Maryland Theatre
21 S Potomac St
Hagerstown, MD 21740 United States
+ Google Map
event category:

Elizabeth Schulze Conductor
Curtis J. Stewart Violin

Jessie Montgomery | Strum
Leonard Bernstein | Serenade after Plato’s Symposium
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart | Symphony No. 40 in G minor

Join us for a concert that seamlessly bridges the realms of classical and contemporary compositions. Jessie Montgomery’s Strum, a modern masterpiece resonating with vibrant energy, sets the stage for an exploration of diverse musical landscapes.

Renowned violinist Curtis Stewart collaborates with the orchestra for Leonard Bernstein’s Serenade after Plato’s Symposium. Stewart’s virtuosity breathes new life into Bernstein’s dialogue, creating a seamless fusion of classical allure and contemporary flair. The concert culminates with Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart’s Symphony No. 40 in G minor, a timeless masterpiece echoing through the ages.

Witness the convergence of eras as the orchestra brings together the soul-stirring notes of Montgomery, the dynamic dialogue of Bernstein, and the timeless elegance of Mozart.