Scott Suchman/National Symphony Orchestra

Scott Suchman Photography

National Symphony Orchestra performs Hymn for Everyone

March 2 - 4, 2023
Tickets & More Info
National Symphony Orchestra
Kennedy Center
2700 F St NW
Washington, DC 20566 United States
+ Google Map

Jessie MontgomeryHymn for Everyone** (NSO CO-COMMISSION)

Dmitri Shostakovich: Piano Concerto No. 1

Jean Sibelius: Symphony No. 2


“Shostakovich’s Piano Concerto No. 1 is a rule-breaking, Neo-baroque romp filled with rapid-paced rhythms and comic punch lines. It’s the musical equivalent of a wily jokester, and there’s no better duo to bring the humor to life than award-winning pianist Conrad Tao and NSO Principal Trumpet William Gerlach.

Led by charismatic young conductor Dalia Stasevska in her NSO debut, the program also includes a new co-commission by Jessie Montgomery—an innovative 21st-century American composer who writes music that is “turbulent, wildly colorful and exploding with life” (The Washington Post).”