San Francisco Symphony performs Strum

June 16 - 19, 2022
Tickets & More Info
San Francisco Symphony
Davies Symphony Hall
201 Van Ness Avenue
San Francisco, CA
+ Google Map

“Esa-Pekka Salonen takes the podium for Ottorino Respighi’s beautiful The Pines of Rome where the rambunctiousness of a modern city communes with echoes of Roman glory. Past and present also come together in Luciano Berio’s imaginative arrangement of a work by Classical composer Luigi Boccherini, while Jessie Montgomery’s Strum dances and moves across the orchestra. Pianist Pierre-Laurent Aimard alternates performances of Béla Bartók’s First and Third piano concertos, taking audiences on adventures through modernist tonalities, breathless rhythms, and lyrical introspection.”