Vienna Radio Symphony Orchestra performs Strum on Japan Tour

September 7 - 17, 2024
Tickets & More Info
Vienna Radio Symphony Orchestra
+43 1 501 01 - 18420
Japan Tour
event category:

Jessie Montgomery: Strum (2006-2012) for string orchestra

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Concerto for Piano and Orchestra No. 26 in D major KV 537 “1st Coronation Concerto” (1788)

Ludwig van Beethoven: Symphony No. 7 in A major op. 92 (1811-1812)

Marin Alsop: conductor

Hayato Sumino: piano

From Sapporo to Fukuoka, from the northernmost to the southernmost part of Japan, the upcoming tour takes the ORF Radio-Symphonieorchester Wien under the baton of chief conductor Marin Alsop. Eleven concerts in all major cities, and all in just under two weeks – the orchestra has set itself a lot for this first trip to Japan in eight years. For the program, the ORF RSO Wien relies on the proven combination of classical and contemporary: Mozart’s Piano Concerto KV 537 and Beethoven’s Symphonies No. 3 and 7 will be juxtaposed with “Strum” by American composer Jessie Montgomery. With Hayato Sumino as soloist, the orchestra has a knowledgeable travel companion: The Tokyo-born pianist is not only a participant and winner of numerous prestigious competitions, but also runs an exceptionally successful YouTube channel under the name “Cateen” with his music. So nothing stands in the way of an exciting journey!